Project:

Haus Myrte

Year:

2024

Client:

Blattmann Metallwarenfabrik AG

Location:

Wädenswil, Schweiz

Program:

Sanierung und Umbau

Area:

GF 540 qm

Commission:

Direktauftrag

ARCHITEKT:

Hosoya Schaefer Architects AG

PLANUNGSTEAM:

Gasser Baumanagement GmbH
Dr. Lüchinger+Meyer Bauingenieure AG
Consultair AG
eik-engineering ag
Kuster + Partner AG

Fotografie:

Rasmus Norlander
Jos Schmid
Hosoya Schaefer Architects

ZUGEHÖRIGES PROJEKT:

Mewa-Areal

externe medien:

www.swiss-architects.com

 

Das 179 Jahre alte Haus Myrte, Teil der Entwicklung des MEWA-Areals in Wädenswil, wurde renoviert. Übergeordnetes Ziel des MEWA-Areals in Wädenswil ist die Umnutzung der ehemaligen Blattmann Metallwarenfabrik für Wohn- und Geschäftszwecke, sowie die Stärkung und Verbesserung der vorhandenen nachbarschaftlichen Qualitäten.

Das Gebäude, das früher eine Herrenschneiderei war, behält sein öffentliches Erdgeschoss für einen Projekt-Showroom bei, um die Kommunikation mit Nachbarn und Interessengruppen zu ermöglichen. Das erste Stockwerk des Hauses dient während der Bauarbeiten auf dem Areal als Kundenbüro und später als Bürofläche. Das zweite Stockwerk wird räumlich aufgewertet zu Wohnzwecken. Durch die Entfernung eines Teils der Dachdecke im obersten Stock entsteht ein loftartiges Wohnzimmer, das interessante Blickbeziehungen innerhalb des Gebäudes schafft. Ein zweigeschossiges Atrium verbindet optisch den Showroom und das Büro. Neue Innenmaterialien spiegeln das vergangene industrielle Erbe wider und passen sich einem Materialkonzept an, das in der Geschichte der Metallproduktion auf dem Gelände verwurzelt ist.

Strukturelle Verbesserungen, einschliesslich Verstrebungen und seismischer Massnahmen, wurden umgesetzt und die Energieeffizienz über das Anbringen einer Fassadendämmung aufgewertet. Die alten Heizkörper wurden, wo möglich durch eine neue Fussbodenheizung ersetzt. Zukünftige Pläne sehen vor, das Gebäude an ein geothermisches Heizsystem anzuschliessen. Die grüne Stuckfassade erinnert an historische Fabrikinnenräume und zeichnet sich durch markante Fensterläden aus, die dem Design des Landy-Stuhls von Hans Coray aus dem Jahr 1935 Tribut zollen.

Projects

Contact

Zürich office

Flüelastrasse 10, 8048 Zürich, Switzerland (Google Maps)
T. +41 43 243 6313 F.

GENERAL INQUIRIES: office@hosoyaschaefer.com
PUBLIC RELATIONS: press@hosoyaschaefer.com
CAREER: job@hosoyaschaefer.com (Please refer to our OFFICE > CAREER section for further information)

Kyoto office

Jimukinoueda bldg. 603, 21 Sakaicho, Gojo-Takakurakado, Shimogyoku, Kyoto 600-8191, Japan
T. +81 75 744 1503
office@hosoyaschaefer.com

Project:

Haus Myrte

Year:

2024

Client:

Blattmann Metallwarenfabrik AG

Location:

Wädenswil, Switzerland

Program:

Building renovation

Area:

540 sqm

Commission:

Direct commission

ARCHITECTS:

Hosoya Schaefer Architects AG

PLANNING TEAM:

Gasser Baumanagement GmbH
Dr. Lüchinger+Meyer Bauingenieure AG
Consultair AG
eik-engineering ag
Kuster + Partner AG

photography:

Rasmus Norlander
Jos Schmid
Hosoya Schaefer Architects

RELATED PROJECT:

Mewa-Areal

DIGITAL PUBLICATION:

www.swiss-architects.com

 

The 179-year-old Haus Myrte, part of the MEWA-Areal development in Wädenswil, underwent renovation. MEWA-Areal Wädenswil seeks to repurpose the Blattmann Metallwarenfabrik factory site for residential and commercial purposes, enhancing the neighborhood’s quality.

The building, formerly a men’s clothing store, retains its public ground floor for a project showroom, facilitating communication with neighbors and stakeholders. The first floor serves as an office, doubling as a client office during MEWA AREAL construction, while the second floor undergoes a spatial upgrade as an apartment. The removal of part of the attic slab on the top floor creates a loft-like living room, fostering spatial connections within the building. A two-story atrium links the showroom and office floor visually. New interior materials reflect the past industrial heritage, aligning with a material concept rooted in the site’s metal production history.

Structural improvements, including bracing and seismic measures, were implemented, with added insulation for energy efficiency. Underfloor heating replaced old radiators where feasible. Future plans involve connecting the building to a geothermal heating system. The green-themed stucco facade, reminiscent of historical factory interiors, features distinctive shutters paying tribute to the Landy chair’s design by Hans Coray in 1935.

Projects

Contact

Zürich office

Flüelastrasse 10, 8048 Zürich, Switzerland (Google Maps)
T. +41 43 243 6313 F.

GENERAL INQUIRIES: office@hosoyaschaefer.com
PUBLIC RELATIONS: press@hosoyaschaefer.com
CAREER: job@hosoyaschaefer.com (Please refer to our OFFICE > CAREER section for further information)

Kyoto office

Jimukinoueda bldg. 603, 21 Sakaicho, Gojo-Takakurakado, Shimogyoku, Kyoto 600-8191, Japan
T. +81 75 744 1503
office@hosoyaschaefer.com